The disappearing messages feature is now active for the Indian users. WhatsApp will delete such messages after a period of seven days.
Disappearing Messages in WhatsApp
The popular messaging app, WhatsApp had introduced the “disappearing messages” feature recently. The same has now been made available for the Indian users as well. WhatsApp will delete these messages after seven days. The new feature is there on all platforms like Android, iOS, and KaiOS. What’s more, the makers have brought this feature even on the WhatsApp Web.
WhatsApp had recently announced that this new feature will soon make its way to Indian users. And this would be happening in this month only. As we are coming to the end of the month, the feature is here. This makes the new disappearing messages feature available for more than 2 billion people. So, how’s the feature going to work for you and what are its advantages?
How to Use the New Feature
For individual chats, you can toggle the feature on or off as shown in the image below. But you cannot control the settings of a group in such cases, simply because you aren’t the admin. For the disappearing messages to work for a group, only the admin has the right to do so. The process is pretty much the same here too.
Also Read: WhatsApp Dark Mode Is Here: How To Get It For Android
If you aren’t the admin, of course, you will have no control over making the messages disappear. And that’s how you will see the difference. The left image shows the feature activated as an admin right. The second image doesn’t allow editing, not being an admin.
Advantages of the New Feature
First of all, as the name disappearing messages suggest, the messages will “disappear” automatically after seven days. It means the messages will be auto-deleted. So, you don’t need to go back to keep deleting old messages manually. This is definitely time-saving as deleting messages in buzzing groups can be quite a task. WhatsApp has more details in their FAQs.
Also Read: WhatsApp Latest Update Will Limit Forwarding of Messages
Another upside is it will delete the media too, which means your local storage won’t keep accumulating with unwanted images. Even after WhatsApp has been around for so many years, there are still people who keep on sending “Good morning” and “Good night” messages. And this can be quite irritating.
What you only need to look into is the messages you don’t want to be auto-deleted. By default, if you turn the feature on, it will delete all messages after that point. So, be careful with messages that you need to keep. Take a screenshot or make a copy of that particular message. Also, once the feature is on, the effect starts. It means even if you don’t open WhatsApp for seven days, the activated feature will still delete the messages.